Mexican Pita Pockets

Mexican Pita Pockets

½ pound white meat skinless turkey
½ cup chopped onion
1 can (16 ounces) ranch pinto beans (undrained)
2 cups shredded lettuce
½ cup salsa or taco sauce
1 cup tomato, chopped
3 whole wheat or white pita bread loaves, halved
1 cup grated non-fat cheddar cheese

Mock Sour Cream:
8 ounces fat-free cottage cheese, drained
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon plain fat-free yogurt
Blend until smooth

Brown turkey meat and onion in a bowl in the microwave about 3-4 minutes. Cover with a piece of waxed paper as you cook them. Drain. Add beans and salsa, heat thoroughly. Spoon ½ of the mixture into each pita pocket half. Top with lettuce, tomato, cheese, mock sour cream and additional salsa if desired.

Serves:  6                                                        Fat grams:  2.0
Phase:  3, 4                                              Protein:  29.6

*Drop us a line and tell us what recipes you’d like to see in upcoming  Healthy Hope issues.  We can’t wait to hear from you! Email us at: thinandhealthyezine@thinandhealthy.com

This recipe can be found in our Thin&Healthy Forever Cookbook. Pick up your copy from your local Thin&Healthy Center or order it now by clicking here

3 Responses to Mexican Pita Pockets

  1. Mike says:

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    _________________________________
    Making Money $150 An Hour

  2. hip-hop says:

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit
    and sources back to your site? My blog site is in the very same niche as yours and my visitors would certainly benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this ok with you. Thanks!

  3. I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog
    that’s both educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is an issue that too few folks are speaking
    intelligently about. I am very happy I stumbled across this in my
    search for something concerning this.

Leave a comment